“When you grow up you’ll understand…”

It’s true when they say “when you grow up you’ll understand.” While this doesn’t necessarily imply you’ll know everything at once, like what to do with your life or who you are really meant to be and all that so-called important stuff… you’ll understand what matters most.

Every relationships you harvest and grow (yep, you’re like a little family/friend farmer) are how you begin to identify yourself, learn from, grow into, and become that little person you were meant to be. While I could go on forever about taking in all that is around you (especially the people), I am referring to my parents.

My parents were the one’s who told me most “when you grow up you’ll understand.”

IMG_4248Alright Mom and Dad, I sure don’t have it all figured out, but I can’t thank you enough.

Thank you for taking my cell phone away at night all throughout high school. Thank you for never giving into unlimited texting until I was about to graduate. As silly as this sounds, you taught me that communication is important. So important that it shouldn’t be done in an emotionless, technology driven form. It should be done face to face, in the moment. We are supposed to connect with people; not with a screen.

Thank you for taking me to see my grandparents (all three sets) growing up. They spoiled me beyond belief. From toy chests just for the grand babies to a few extra cookies; you let it happen. You let it happen because you love me. You know the importance of grandmas and grandpas and just how much they can make a little girl feel unconditionally loved by someone who even loves their parents too. And that’s important; it taught me the value of family. IMG_6244

Thank you for letting me play outside. No matter how muddy my boots were or how dirty my hands, you made it happen. Dad put in swings and a tree fort first thing. This was much different than how when you were young and you could just run down the street, but you didn’t let the ease of putting in a movie become your parenting. Because no matter what kind of mess we made or the scrapes on our knees, you let us wander and just be. We were anything we wanted; from playing “olden days” to town, our imaginations ran wild. This gives a little girl the ability to dream big; not just in elementary school, but for the rest of her life too.

Thank you for encouraging me to pursue my dreams. These started with wanting to be a ballerina for five years. And when that didn’t pan out and neither did ice-skating (which I now know is because I am far from graceful), you let me ride horses even when mom was a bit scared of them. You let me take up tennis, volleyball, and some more hIMG_0064orseback riding. You let my little heart wander, but it didn’t stop there. You let me move 30 minutes from home to pursue rowing and then to up and throw it all away to be a sorority girl in a city that I have grown to love. You have had my back on the multiple jobs I’ve taken and tolerate my obsession with working out. And now somehow the tutu wearing, horseback riding, and sorority days are over and I am graduating college. Whoa.

I guess what I have to say really is thank you for being present. You two are the greatest gift a little girl and soon- to-be college graduate could ever receive. I have been blessed. Blessed by two parents who value healthy relationships, family, exploring, and pursuing dreams. Now that I have (sort of) grown up, I can say that I understand. I understand all the rules, curfews, and late night talks. You were shaping me into someone who really appreciates this beautiful ride in life. Thank you for continually teaching and loving on me.

Leave a comment